Clippers-Bulls preview

Los Angeles Clippers Status Check:
Record: 5-21
Division: 2-3
Conference: 5-15
Road Record: 0-11
Last game: Lost 105-91 @ Philadelphia
Last 10 Games: 2-8
PPG: 95.6 (22nd)
Opponents PPG: 101.8 (20th)
Offensive Rating: 103.0 (24th)
Defensive Rating: 109.6 (20th)
Pace: 91.8 (17th)
Effective Field Goal Percentage: .482 (22nd)
Turnover Percentage: .155 (29th)
Defensive Rebound Percentage: .747 (12th)
Offensive Rebound Percentage: .290 (8th)
Free Throws Per Field Goal Attempt: .237 (15th)
Opp. eFG%: .508 (21st)
Opp. TO%: .128 (25th)
Opp. FT/FGA: .262 (24th)

Stats from

Statistically, the Clippers are awful.

They haven’t won on the road.

They’ve lost eight of their last 10 games.

They have the worst record in the league.

Their owner is heckling his players at home games.

And did I mention that their coach is Vinny Del Negro?

By every indication, the Clippers are a team in complete and utter disarray. But the Bulls should beware the trap game. No, really. I’m being serious.

Check out the Clippers’ last eight games:

Won versus Spurs 90-85
Lost at Denver 109-104
Lost at Portland 100-91
Won versus Kings 98-91
Lost versus Lakers 87-86
Lost versus Grizzlies 84-83
Lost versus Magic 94-85
Lost at Philly 105-91

Sure, their loss to the Sixers was a bad one. But they beat the Spurs, who have the best record in the league. They were only one point and a tough last-second shot by Derek Fisher away from beating the defending champion Lakers. They were also only one point away from beating the Memphis Grizzlies, who are on a four-game winning streak and have been playing really well lately. And they’ve been holding some high-scoring teams below their season averages.

Believe it or not, the Clippers have been playing hard.

It’s not that surprising. For all his faults as a coach — and there are many — Del Negro usually got the Bulls to give a solid effort when he was coaching in Chicago.

Plus, let’s face it, Blake Griffin has been tearing things up. Check out his game log: He has 19 double-doubles in 26 games. He has 13 double-doubles in his last 13 games. What’s more, he already has a season’s worth of highlights and inspired excited basketball fans to coin the term Mosgov’d.

The Clippers are also getting strong play out of Eric Gordon. Gordon currently ranks 10th in PPG (24.1) and 5th in free throw attempts (217). This kid is getting to the line nine times a game and converting 80 percent of his foul shots, which makes up (in part) for his poor three-point shooting (26.7 percent).

However, after those two guys, the Clippers are pretty thin. Chris Kaman, their starting center, is out with a sprained left ankle. Baron Davis (8.3 PPG, 34% FGA, 18% 3P%) is playing so poorly you almost can’t blame Donald Sterling for heckling him. And after that — Eric Bledsoe (7.9 PPG, 44% FGP), Ryan Gomes (7.1 PPG, 38% FPG), Rasual Butler (6.5 PPG, 34% FGP) — it only gets worse.

So I guess that, in theory, there’s no better team to go against in the team’s first Joakim Noah-less game than the Clippers.

Random stats: In four career games versus the Clippers, Derrick Rose has gone 31-for-74 from the field (41 percent). Meanwhile, in his last five games against the Clips, Carlos Boozer has averaged 22.2 PPG on 55 percent shooting (45-for-81) while grabbing 12.4 RPG. Boozington versus Griffin should be quite a battle.

Let’s hope Carlos isn’t Mosgov’d.

24 Responses to Clippers-Bulls preview

  1. Spike December 17, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    Also, the Clips are playing tonight at Detroit, so they’ll be on the 2nd night of a back-to-back when they face the Bulls tomorrow.

    I won’t say it’s gonna be an easy game, but it’s a game the Bulls should win even without Noah.

    Go Bulls!

  2. TBF December 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Most insane poster ever? Nah…

    The best ever is still Tom Chambers over Mark Jackson. Chambers was looking *down* through the ring at the top of that one.

    andre December 18, 2010 at 4:44 am #

    Sheesh! it wasnt even a dunk he hammered down a layup. Great player on horrible team griffin for ROY John Wall for best dancer though.

    Tae December 18, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I want Blake Griffin to do two things:
    1) Entertain me with dunks
    2) Absolutely destroy Keith Bogans so Thibs will never think about starting him again. I want Harlem Globe-Trotter tier stuff in the first 5 minutes where Blake spins the ball around Bogan’s head.

  5. Matt December 18, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Why is everybody so unhappy about Bogans starting? He gets less than 20 minutes per game (less than Brewer and Korver); sure we’d all prefer a SG who can actually play a complete game but its not like he’s really hurting the team that much.
    Also starting him has a nice advantage, it means the 2nd unit doesn’t have to play many minutes with him…can you imagine how inept the offense would get with him on the floor without Rose there to make up for him?

    chitown4life December 18, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    I know the bulls will win tonight if not cause they are playing the clippers because they must step up now without Noah he will be missed on the court , I am hopeful the bulls will sign Sheed to the team
    1) Vet min
    2)has outside shot
    3)is a reliable big plays hard knows the D
    4)would not effect the current cap or take any drift picks to get him/also show the young players what it takes to be a winner
    I know he wants to play for the bulls I hope they at least sign him and see what he has left in the tank should be more than enough to get him some solid playing time on the court with our team.
    I have always liked sheed I think his game has always been good therefor why not now why not sheed timing is key and the time is now.

  7. Inception December 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    CHI will have their hands full with Griffin…this is a dangerous team…i don’t care what their record is…this game will be close or a game where the clip can control the game from beginning to end…yup, i said it.

  8. Deaster December 18, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    ‘Sheed is a cancer, and suggesting he plays hard is comical, I can’t remember the last time he set foot in the paint.

  9. John December 18, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Tae, why would blake griffin do that that to bogans?? Bogans is a 2 while griffin is a 4. Do u mean gordon doin that to bogans??

  10. steverba December 19, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    any chance the recent Magic trade, which gave them an additional guard to what they had, might be a precursor to a reddick to bulls deal???

    chitown4life December 19, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    If tonights game does not tell you directly some things about our team then you did not watch the game bogans is not a starter we do not have a big man that can hit the boards or block shots, the coach does not really have a frim grip on being a head coach did not have the right ppl on the court at the right time during important part of the game, and for those that ran VDN out of town i would say he did a very good job coaching and i for one liked hm as a coach yes he was fresh but he got us to the playoffs two str8 yrs ppl fight all the time was it good enough reason to fire hm for the job he did no it was not if our coach does not get his act together soon with coaching i think he may be on his way out also we best get a big man and i mean soon like yesterday don’t wait any longer Pax/Gar yr jobs may be at stake also get it done now we need help down low period . rose cannot do it all the time wtf get him some help now right now. peace

  12. steverba December 19, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    ^^^^ is that you, vinny??


    inkybreath December 19, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Wow. Tough night at the line for Captain Kirk and DRose …

    Tae December 19, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    You have to be very, very bad to not make the top 8 with Rose’s talents in the Central division. I’m just saying.

    Enigmatik December 19, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Tough loss. This is the first Bulls loss to a sub .500 team this season…and at home, no less. The consistent theme that’s brought up throughout the season is how the team lacks energy at times. Do they need a liquid diet of Red Bull for the remainder of the season? What’s the deal? Joakim’s not going to be suiting up anytime soon, so they’re going to have to get it together. This isn’t the type of game that the team should be losing.

    Where was the bench? Oh that’s right, being outscored 33-20.

    4 rebounds from Booz isn’t going to cut it.

    Please remind me why Keith Bogans continues to start.

    Bad way for the streak to end, but I give the Clippers credit because they’ve shown they can fight hard and compete at times throughout this season. I just wish they would have rolled over and choked the game away last night.

    This is the time to rack up some serious wins now that the schedule is a little soft…the Bulls can really shoot for that 3rd spot now that Orlando is in disarray, but they’ve got to keep winning. I don’t know if Orlando is any better off with the trades they made, but we’ll all soon see.

    Adam December 19, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    This was a rough game for a lot of reasons.

    1) You don’t want to lose to a former coach or player.
    2) Joakim’s lack of interior D was felt throughout the game…not just in patches. This is going to be a problem EVERY game till her gets back which means we’ll always be grinding them out.
    3) Korver, who is my favorite new pick up, played awful. He hasn’t had many bad games but we’ve lost them all.
    4) CJ is still quite. He was more aggressive and consistent in the early season…we need him to get back to leading the secondary.
    5) Taj is hurt…we need him now more than ever.
    6) Rose missing the final free throw hurts a lot because now people will question his clutchness. You will hear people start saying the Kobe will never miss a shot like that etc… He’s still ‘young’ and you know he got down on himself pretty hard for that miss. How many free throws is he going to be shooting over the next few weeks a day? 1000? I could see it… this kind of thing fuels him.

  17. TBF December 19, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Love the tenor of the posts after one tough loss: Our coach is bad, our GM is bad and Boozer’s a bum. This is why, were I a pro sportsman, I would never play in Chicago, not for any money. When you’re winning you get no accolades because it’s “expected”. Lose one, and everyone’s at your throat for no reason. Is these team not entitled to a loss? Even to a team that’s not so hot? Well, excuse me, even the great 72 win Bulls team dropped 10 games. 2 to the Pacers, who weren’t exactly the Showtime Lakers.

    Anyone who thinks that VDN is a better coach than the one we have now, please, just stop watching basketball. Find something more your speed, like hopscotch. People couldn’t run VDN out of town fast enough; half the fans were willing to buy his plane ticket for him. Now, after one loss to his sucktastic Clippers, we’re ready to take him back and he wasn’t all that bad. Now we’re ready to fire Thibs ’cause his job “could be at stake”.

    Boozer gets 4 rebounds and that “Isn’t gonna cut it.” We need to get D-Rose “some help wtf.” Are you out your fucking minds? Have you not seen the man the last couple games? Playing like a beast? If you think that this is indicative of Boozer’s usual ability then there’s nothing more I can do to help you.

    In short, quit panicking.

  18. Inception December 19, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    LOL…why was my comment deleted?

    because I predicted that the clippers could control this game from beginning to end (which happened)?


  19. Inception December 19, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    nevermind, it just popped up now…weird…sorry!

    inkybreath December 19, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    Honestly, not that Detroit is anything to write home about, but when I saw the Clips got their first road win, it felt ominous.

    chitown4life December 19, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    ppl lets get serious now the bulls need help in the front court the D league aint gonna do it and they may want to consider signing sheed today cannot wait too much long boozer 4 rebs no way will that work T gibs concusion , and kurt thomas horrible aserik is a rookie doing the best he can what is the delay get it done now Pax coach TT may need some coaching up skills he is a d coach for sure but its a differrent thing being a head coach congrats VDN they never should of fired you in my opion gonna stick to what i said long time ago you were good enough for two playoff appearances in two yrs that has to count for something not suprised you got a gig so fast someone saw you did something right too bad Pax ego got in the way and yes rose Noah deng T gibs all liked him as a coach imagine that too bad oh well hope TT the coach gets his game skills up to put right players on the court Bogans is no starter n brewer not sure what he is but not a starter either might want to start korver and move deng to shooting guard that could work and far as the bench concerns go deal wit it as it goes along in the game korver needs more time on the court for sure point made.

  22. Annoying Grammar Douche December 19, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Sorry, but have you ever heard of a period?

    chitown4life December 20, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    @11:11 p.m. yes i have heard of a period like you none existant.@TBF you my friend are a coach T nut suker , also yea Boozer getting 4 rebs aint gonna cut it so what he did before that now Noah aint there to like over shadow him and let him get the rebs, now is the time for boozer to show himself, when you lose a guy like Noah others must step up T gib is hurt, why would you not at least be some what crucial of the coachs moves he made during the game he already has admitted to making them this year so what i am only saying what is the truth, from his mouth to our ears sochek yr own facts TBF I am a true player and fan of the game not just talking from the outside in unlike yrself I am sure anyways get a clue come back with some facts I would love to see boozer improve also Coach T but not giving niether a pass both were paid lots of money and coach T is suppose to be a D minded coach up until Noah left all team score 85 or less and bulls won I know but now without the big Noah hmmm gonna wait but it aint looking good for the bulls without Noah or another big man(sheed wallace).peace

    Enigmatik December 21, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    @TBF – If you think 4 rebounds is awesome for a guy who averages close to 10 for his career, then I don’t know what to tell you. We all know what Boozer’s usual ability is and none of us want to see him underperform. Getting 4 rebounds is unacceptable to the rest of us, but I guess you’re fine with it. Nothing more to say about that.

Leave a Reply

Designed by Anthony Bain